Chetwynde School, Croslands, Rating Lane, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 0NY

01229 824210

Chetwynde School

Respect, Responsibility, Resilience

Key Stage 4

Our students select their options for GCSE at the end of Key Stage 3.

For GCSE all students study English Language & Literature, Mathematics and Science, (either as three separate sciences or the science/additional science option.)

In addition to these core subjects, students choose up to four additional subjects to study to GCSE level.

It is strongly recommended that students opt to study at least one Modern Foreign Language (French) and at least one of the Humanities on offer  (Geography or History. )

The remaining subjects available are; Art, Design Technology, PE(GCSE) and ICT. Drama. Further Maths and  Latin Language & Roman Civilisation are offered as extra curricular options.

GCSE level qualifications are assessed by means of either external examinations or controlled assessment which can be internally marked then externally moderated or in some cases only marked by the examination boards. Clear guidance can be found on the curriculum pages for each subject.

Please see below for guidance about Government and OFQUAL changes to GCSE.

Government and Ofqual Changes to GCSE examinations.

The Government and Ofqual, detailed their proposals for the new GCSEs in November 2013.

New GCSEs teaching came into practice in September 2015 in:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Maths

New GCSEs in the sciences, History and Geography, as well as in languages, are scheduled for first teaching in September 2016.

Key structural features of the new GCSEs confirmed by Ofqual include:

  • A new grading scale that uses the numbers 1–9 to identify levels of performance (with 9 being the top level). Where performance is below the minimum required to pass a GCSE, students will get a U.
  • Tiering used only for subjects ‘where untiered papers will not allow students at the lower end of the ability range to demonstrate their knowledge and skills, or will not stretch the most able’. English Literature and English Language will be untiered. Maths will be tiered with an ‘improved overlapping tiers model’, with a foundation tier covering grades 1–5 and a higher tier covering grades 4–9.
  • Linear GCSEs, with assessment to be taken at the end of the course in June. Re-sit opportunities in November for English Language and Maths only.
  • Assessment by external exam only, except where non-exam assessment is the only way to provide valid assessment of the skills required. Maths, English Literature and English Language to be externally assessed. English Language to have a Speaking assessment that will be reported separately.
  • The first assessment of new two-year GCSE courses that start in September 2015 will be in June 2017.
  • New GCSEs in the Sciences, History and Geography, as well as languages, are scheduled for first teaching in September 2016 with first assessment in 2018.


For further information about the GCSE reform, click here

Please also visit the individual subject pages for more details about the curriculum.